

Committee and Date

Council

18 April 2013

10.00am

tem	
1	3

Public

RETIREMENTS

Respons	sible Officer	Claire Porter				
Email:	Claire.Porter@	shropshire.gov.uk	Tel:	(01743) 252763	Fax:	(01743) 252725

SUMMARY

To report to Council the retirement of serving Members of the Council.

RECOMMENDATIONS

A) The Council will no doubt wish to pay tribute to the dedicated service of the seven Members and to wish them well in their retirement.

REPORT

1. The following Members will be leaving the Council. No doubt Council will wish to pay tribute to their service over the years, to the commitment, knowledge and experience they have brought to the Council, and to their many achievements, but most importantly to wish them well in their retirement.

Brian Gillow OBE (Market Drayton East Division)

2. Brian Gillow became a Member of Shropshire County Council in 1981 and has continuously remained a member of the County Council and latterly Shropshire Council, since this time. He has served on a large number of the most important Committees. He has represented the Council on a number of outside bodies including the County Council Network, the Local Government Association, the Heart of England Tourist Board, Severn Trent Water Authority and Telford Development Agency. He was elected Chairman of Shropshire County Council in May 2005, a position he held for four years. He is a former Chair of Shropshire County Council's Education Committee. He was a member of the West Mercia Police Authority for a number of years. During his time as a Member of Shropshire Council he has served on the Community Services Scrutiny Committee, Protecting and Enhancing our Environment Scrutiny Committee and on the Market Drayton and Rural Areas LJC. He was awarded the OBE in 2008 for services to Local Government and the Voluntary Sector.

Milner Whiteman OBE (Much Wenlock Division)

3. Milner Whiteman before being elected to Shropshire Council in 2009 was a Member of Bridgnorth District Council from 1983 - 2009. He was awarded the OBE in 2001 for services to Local Government. During his time at Shropshire Council he has served on the Audit Committee, the Health Overview and Crime Reduction Committee, the Safe and Confident Communities Scrutiny Committee, South Planning Committee, Broseley and Barrow Local Joint Committee, and the Much Wenlock and Shipton Local Joint Committee. He has also represented Shropshire Council on the Local Government Association Rural Commission, SPARSE and the Strategic Housing Advisory Group.

Liz Parsons (Bayston Hill, Column and Sutton Division)

4. Liz Parsons before being elected to Shropshire Council in 2009 had been a Member of Shrewsbury and Atcham Borough Council from 2005 and Shropshire County Council. During her time at Shropshire Council she has been a Member of a number of Committees including the Central Planning Committee, Health Overview and Crime Reduction Committee, Healthy Communities Scrutiny Committee, Bayston Hill Local Joint Committee, Meole, Column and Sutton Local Joint Committee, Shrewsbury Wide Local Joint Committee, the Housing Appeal Panel and the General Appeals Panel. She has also represented Shropshire Council on the Mereside Community Centre Association.

Aggie Caesar-Homden (Ruyton and Baschurch Division)

 Aggie Caesar-Homden had previously been a Member of Oswestry Borough Council from 2005 - 2009. She was a Member of Shropshire Council's Cabinet until November 2011 as the Portfolio Holder for Education and Skills. She has served on two Local Joint Committees, Oswestry Cluster Local Joint Committee and the Five Perry Parishes Local Joint Committee.

Mary Nicholls (Highley Division)

6. Mary Nicholls was elected to Shropshire Council in 2009 for the Highley Division. She has served on Shropshire Council's South Planning Committee and the Brown Clee and Highley Local Joint Committee. She was also a Member of the Transport Task and Finish Group.

William Benyon (Oswestry East Division)

7. Bill Benyon before being elected to Shropshire Council in 2009, served on Oswestry Borough Council (first elected in 2001) and Shropshire County Council. During his time at Shropshire County Council he was a Member of the Community Services Scrutiny Panel, Planning Committee and Rights of Way Committee. At Shropshire Council, he was a Member of Development Services Scrutiny Committee, the Enterprise and Growth Scrutiny Committee and the Oswestry Local Joint Committee. He has also represented Shropshire Council on the Eastern Oswestry Community Group and the Oswestry and District Access Group.

Trevor Davies (Gobowen, Selattyn and Weston Rhyn Division)

8. Trevor Davies served on Oswestry Borough Council and the County Council before being elected to Shropshire Council in 2009. He has been a Member on the Gobowen, Selattyn, Weston Rhyn and St Martin's Local Joint Committee, Oswestry Cluster Local Joint Committee and St Oswald and Llanymynech Local Joint Committee. He has also at times served as a Member on one of the Council's Scrutiny Committees. He has represented Shropshire Council on the Railway Liaison Group - Heart of Wales Line Forum and the New Century Court Steering Group.

List of Background Papers (This MUST be completed for all reports, but does not include items containing exempt or confidential information)					
Human Rights A	ct Appraisal				
Not Applicable					
Environmental A	ppraisal				
Not Applicable					
Community / Co	nsultations Appraisal				
Not Applicable					
Cabinet Member	(Portfolio Holder)				
Not Applicable					
Local Member					
Not Applicable					
Appendices					
None					